New Toy – EFS 17-85mm

Just the other day I picked up a much needed addition to my 400D – A Canon EFS 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS lens. While I won’t be using the Image Stabilizer much when out taking photos of trains (I always shoot at a high enough shutter speed to “freeze” motion, as well as combat handshake), it will help with my other photographic exploits.

Having used it today, the extra focal length offered over my “kit lens” (EFS 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6) is a big bonus when trying to set up a wide angle shot of a train in motion. I look forward to getting out of the city on the June Long Weekend to try out some shots of the landscape with a train in motion through it.

The above photo of 44209 at Campsie I would not have even thought to attempt before purchasing this lens, for example.

One thought on “New Toy – EFS 17-85mm

  1. Wow! That muct be worth the money for taking shot like that. I have noticed in your railway photography that shots are a bit distant (not that it’s a bad thing).

    I guess, as you said, this is a way to expand on your photography. Looking forward to June-Long Weekend too 🙂

Leave a Reply

